

Regd. No N.E. 907

The Mizoram Gazette

EXTRA ORDINARY

Publiced by Authority

Vol VI Aizawl, Wednesday 16th February 1977, Magha, 27, S.E. 1898, Issue No. 10

ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

New Delhi-1 Dated 16 February, 1977. 27 Magha, 1898 (Saka)

NOTIFICATION

S.O. Whereas Shri R. Balakrishna Fillai, Ex.M.P., has made a representation that three members returned on the Kerala Congress ticket to the House of the People in the general election held in 1971 and one member returned to the Kerala Legislative Assembly on the Kerala Congress ticket in the general election to the Assembly held in 1970 belong to a group of which he is the President;

And whereas he has applied for recognition of the group as a State Party and allotment to it of a reserved symbol; And whereas after due consideration, the Commission is satisfied that the Kerala Congress group led by Shri R. Balakrishna Pillai should be granted adhoc recognition as a State Party;

Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred on the Election Commission of India by article 324 of the Constitution of India. rules 5 and 10 of the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961 and paragraph 18 of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment: Order, 1968, and all the other powers enabling it in that behalf, the Election Commission of India hereby directs that -

- (a) that the group led by the said Shri R. Balakrishna Pillai shall be recognised as a State Party on adhoc basis in the State of Kerala with the name "Kerala Congress (Pillai Group)";
- (b) that the symbol 'Coconut tree bearing fruits' shall be reserved for the said party;
- (c) in Table 2 to the Commission's notification No. 56/77-11, dated 9 February, 1977 published as S.O. No. 152 (E) in the Gazette of India, Extraordinary, Part II, section 3 (ii), dated 9 February, 1977, against the item "Kerala" the following entries shall be added -

AND

(d) in Table 3 of the said notification against the entry "9. Kerala," the entry" (3) Coconut tree bearing fruits" shall be deleted and the remaining entries (4) to (11) shall be renumbered as (3) to (10) respectively.

[No. 56/77/-1V]

By order,

V. Nagasubramanian Secretary

Printed at the Mizoram Government Press, Aizawl. C-800.