## MIZORAM LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY SECRETARIAT

.....

## **BULLETIN PART-II**

(General information relating to Presidential Election, 2017)

No. 185

Monday, 10 July, 2017.

## **PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION, 2017**

#### 1. Manner of recording votes -

- (1) Every elector shall have as many preferences as there are candidates but no ballot paper shall be considered invalid solely on the ground that all such preferences are not marked.
- (2) An elector in giving his vote -
  - (a) shall place on his ballot paper the figure 1 in the space opposite the name of the candidate whom he choose for his first preferences; and
  - (b) may, in addition, mark as many subsequent preferences as he wished by placing on his ballot paper the figures 2,3,4 and so on, in the spaces opposite the names of other candidates, in order of preference.

# **Explanation** -

The figures referred to in clauses (a) and (b) of this sub-rule may be marked in the international form of Indian numerals or the Roman form or in the form used in any Indian language but shall not be indicated in words.

(3) The presiding officer shall, if requested by an elector, explain to him the instructions contained on the ballot paper for the recording of votes.

# 2. Maintenance of secrecy of voting by electors within place of polling and voting procedure -

(1) Every elector to whom a ballot paper has been delivered under rule 14 shall maintain secrecy of voting within the place of polling and for that purpose observe the voting procedure hereinafter laid down.

- (2) An elector on receiving the ballot paper shall forthwith -
  - (a) proceed to one of the voting compartments;
  - (b) record his vote in accordance with sub-rule (2) of rule 17;
  - (c) fold the ballot paper so as to conceal his vote;
  - (d) insert the folded ballot into the ballot box : and
  - (e) quit the place of polling.
- (3) Every elector shall vote without undue delay.
- (4) No elector shall be allowed to enter a voting compartment when another elector is inside it.

NGURTHANZUALA Assistant Returning Officer for Presidential Election, 2017 & Secretary Mizoram Legislative Assembly.