

The Mizoram Gazette

Published by Authority

Regn. No. NE-313(MZ)

VOL - XXXIII Aizawl, Friday 19.3.2004, Phalguna 29, S.E. 1925, Issue No. 77

ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi - 110001

<u>Dated : 18th March, 2004</u> <u>28th Phalguna, 1925(S)</u>

NOTIFICATION

No.3/MIZ/2004 : WHEREAS, a number of electors of Mizoram Parliamentary Constituency in the State of Mizoram had migrated because of compelling circumstances and have been temporarily residing in various transit camps in the State of Tripura, outside their place of ordinary residence; and

WHEREAS, the Election Commission of India, having regard to the right of franchise of such migrant electors, directed that these migrants shall continue to be treated as ordinarily residents of their respective places, for inclusion/retention of their names in the electoral roll of the concerned constituency, despite the temporary migration and as such their names were allowed to be included in the electoral rolls of the relevant Assembly Constituencies in the State of Mizoram as summarily revised with reference to 01-01-2004 as the qualifying date;

Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India, in exercise of powers conferred by clause (c) of Section 60 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 and in consultation with the Central Government vide the Ministry of Law and Justice, Legislative Department letter No. H. 11019(2)/2004-Leg. II dated 5th March, 2004, hereby notifies the aforementioned migrant electors enrolled in any of the assembly segments of Mizoram Parliamentary Constituency and who are presently residing in various transit camps in the State of Tripura outside their place of ordinary residence, as the notified class of persons for the purpose of their voting at the poll in the General Election to the House of the People, 2004 to be held from the Mizoram Parliamentary Constituency in the State of Mizoram, by postal ballot and postal ballot alone, subject to fulfilment of the requirements specified in the rules made under the said Act.

By order,

K. AJAYA KUMAR, SECRETARY, ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA.

Published and Issued by Controller, Printing & Stationery Department, Government of Nizoram Printed at the Mizoram Government Press, Aizawi. C/720